65th National Film Awards

National Film Awards 2018

65th National Film Awards

The 65th National Film Awards were announced on April 13, 2018 by the jury headed by renowned filmmaker Shekhar Kapur.

The other members of the jury panel are screenwriter Imtiaz Hussain, lyricist Mehboob, South Indian actress Gautami Tadimalla, Aniruddha Roy Chowdhury, Kannada director P Sheshadri, Ranjit Das, Rajesh Mapuskar, Rumi Jaffrey and Tripurari Sharma.

The award ceremony for the 65th National Film Awards will be held on May 3, 2018 and the awards will be presented by President Ram Nath Kovind.

Key Highlights

• This year, Amit V Masurkar’s ‘Newton’ movie won the Best Hindi language film award, while Pankaj Tripathi received a special mention for his performance in the same film.

• Ganesh Acharya won the award for Best Choreography for the song ‘Goli Tu Lath maar’ in ‘Toilet Ek Prem Katha’.

• The movie ‘Baahubali: The Conclusion’ by SS Rajamouli won in three categories- Best Action Direction, Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment and Best Special Effects.

• Sridevi was posthumously awarded with the Best Actress award for her movie ‘Mom’ and the Dada Saheb Phalke Award went to late veteran actor Vinod Khanna, who died on April 2, 2017.

List of Awardees

Awards :: Winners

• Best Feature Film :: Village Rockstar (Assamese)

• Indira Gandhi Award for Best Debut Film of a Director :: Sinjar

• Best Film on social issue :: Aalorukkam

• Best Children’s Film :: Mhorkya

• Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment :: Baahubali 2: The Conclusion

• Best Director :: Jayaraj for Bhayanakam

• Best Actor :: Riddhi Sen for Nagarkirtan

• Best Actress :: Sridevi for Mom

• Best Supporting Actor :: Fahad Faasil for Thondimuthalum Driksakshiyum

• Best Supporting Actress :: Divya Dutta for Irada

• Best Child Artist :: Neeta Das for Village Rockstar

• Best Male Playback Singer :: Yesudas

• Best Regional Film :: Ladhakh

• Best Jasari Film :: Sinjar

• Best Tulu Film :: Paddayi

• Best Tamil Film :: To Let

• Best Gujarati Film :: Dhh

• Best Telugu Film :: Ghazi

• Best Marathi Film :: Kaccha Limbu

• Best Malayalam Film :: Thondimuthalum Driksakshiyum

• Best Kannada Film :: Hebbettu Ramakka

• Best Hindi Film :: Newton

• Best Bengal Film :: Mayurakshi

• Best Assamese Film :: Ishu

• Best Special Effects :: Baahubali 2 : The Conclusion

• Best Music Direction :: AR Rahman for Kaatru Veliyidai

• Best Film on Environment Conservation/ Preservation :: Irada

• Nargis Dutt Award for Best Feature Film on National Integration :: Dhappa

• Dada Saheb Phalke Award :: Vinod Khanna

• Special Mentions :: Pankaj Tripathi (Newton), Parvathy (Take Off), Prakruti Mishra (Hello Arsi), Yasharaj Karhade (Mhorkya)

Featured Image courtesy: Indian Film History Hindi