Kerala Assembly Election Result 2016 Analysis for PSC Exam

Kerala Assembly Election Result 2016

Kerala Assembly Election Result 2016

The coalition of Left Democratic Front (LDF) has won the 2016 Kerala Assembly Election by the Absolute majority by winning 91 seats (44.94% votes) of the total 140 seats amon the LDF , Communist Party of India (Marxist) by winning 58 seats has emerged single largest party. Other LDF allies have won

  • Communist Party of India :19 Seats
  • Janata Dal (Secular):3 Seats
  • National Congress Party:2 Seats
  • Other LDF supporters:9 Seats

The United Democratic Front (UDF) led by outgoing Chief Minister Oommen Chandy has emerged as largest opposition front. It has won total 47 seats (45.83% votes ).Party wise result is as follows

  • Indian Natonal Congress:22 Seats
  • Indian Union Muslim League:18 Seats
  • Kerala Congress ( M):6 Seats
  • Kerala Congress (Jcob):1 Seats

BJP opens account in Kerala

Bhartiya janata Party (BJP) for the first time has managed to open an account in Kerala by winning single seat from the Nemom constituency, a suburb of state capital Thiruvananthapuram . BJP was able to secure 10.60% votes in this election.

The  seat was won by former Union minister O Rajagopal (86) who won by over 8000 votes. He becomes first BJP MLA in Kerala’s 140 – member assembly history.

kerala assembly election result 2016

Source: Election Commission of India- Click Here

Ministers In Kerala 2016:

CPI (M) Polit Bureau member Pinarayi Vijayan will be sworn in as chief minister, along with other cabinet ministers, on Wednesday, 25th May 2016 around 4 PM.
Pinarayi will be handling the home affairs as well as the vigilance department.
The 19-member cabinet is expected to have 13 first timers.
The LDF constituent CPI will have four Ministers handling revenue, agriculture, food, animal welfare and Forest departments.

List of CPI (M) ministers after 2016 Election

Pinarayi Vijayan – Home, Vigilance IT
AK Saseendran -Transport
Kadannapally Ramachandran – Port, Museum, Zoo
Kadakampally Surendran – Electricity, Dewaswom
EP Jayarajan – Industry
Raveendranath – Education
J Mercykuttiyamma- Fisheries
G Sudhakaran – Public works
Thomas Isaac – Finance
AK Balan – culture and backward class welfare
KK Shailaja – health
AC Moideen – Cooperative
KT Jaleel – Local government

Janata Dal (Secular)

Mathew T Thomas – Water supplies

List of CPI Ministers after 2016 Election

VS Sunil Kumar
E. Chandrasekharan
K Raju
P Thilothaman

Kerala’s Governor P. Sathasivam will administer the Oath of Office and Secrecy to the Chief Minister and Ministers.